Important information

Coronavirus Update - All the information about what we are doing and how we are supporting you and our communities - More information

The Board

To ensure our success, it is vital that the we are governed effectively for the benefit of our customers. Governance describes the way in which Adra is managed.

The governance arrangements of all Welsh housing associations are regulated by the Welsh Government. For more information on this, please visit our Regulation page. We strive to follow sector best practice, including complying with the CHE Code of Governance.

We have a strong Board of Non-Executive Directors, who make the key business decisions and set our priorities and strategic direction. This helps ensure that the company remains:

  • solvent
  • well run
  • delivers the outcomes for which it has been set up

The Board’s composition and operation are governed by our Rules. The Board has two Committees which review specific business areas:

  • the Audit & Assurance Committee
  • the Customer & Assets Committee

We also have a Standing Panel, they look at

  • the Appointment
  • remuneration
  • disciplinary panel.

These deal with specific business areas, and their remit is defined in our Standing Orders.

The Board includes 6 Independent Members; 4 tenants; and 2 Members from the Local Authority, and we also co-opt extra Members to bring specific additional skills. The Board Members bring with them different skills and experiences to provide objective oversight and strengthen the way we are managed.

Get to know our Board Members

Four new Members have recently joined the business to serve on our Board, either on our Adra Board, or on our soon to be launched subsidiary company, Medra. We’ve been searching for some time, through various recruitment campaigns, to get the right blend of skills for governing our business in the strongest way possible. Our new members will play a key role to support our work as we deliver our ambitions as a growing north Wales business and lead the way in delivering quality places to live, and create opportunities for growth and shared returns.


Mark Jones, Chair

Mark Jones (Chair)

(Independent Board Member): Mark serves as Chair of the Board, and sits on both Committees, as well as the Appointment, Remuneration & Disciplinary Panel (ARDP). Mark served with North Wales Police for 30 years, including in Command positions across the force, but predominantly in Gwynedd and Anglesey. He also serves as a school governor.

Hywel Eifion Jones (Vice-chair)

(Independent Board Member): Eifion is the Vice-chair and sits on the Customer & Assets Committee. He is an Associate of the Chartered Institute of Bankers, following 34 years in senior appointments with Barclays. He also served as Anglesey County Councillor and as a member of the North Wales Police Authority. He now sits as a Magistrate and is a member of the Gwynedd Pension Board, and Residential Property Tribunal of Wales.

Berwyn Parry-Jones

Berwyn Parry-Jones

(Local Authority Nominated Board Member): Berwyn is the Chair of the Customer & Assets Committee. He was previously Head of Housing at Gwynedd Council, and was also the Deputy Director for Repairs & Maintenance at Adra. He also serves as a school governor.

Cai Larson

Cai Larsen

Larsen (Local Authority Nominated Board Member): Cai sits on the Customer & Assets Committee. He has 20 years’ experience as a Head Teacher of a local primary school, gaining experience in finance; change; and people management. He serves on a number of Council Committees.

Selwyn Hayward

Selwyn Hayward

Hayward (Independent Board Member): Selwyn serves as Vice Chair of the Audit & Assurance Committee. He is a CIMA qualified accountant and has recently retired from being Deputy Finance Director at Bangor University. This role also saw him serve on a Joint Venture Board.

Abigail Tweed

(Independent Board Member): Abigail serves as Vice Chair of the Customer & Assets Committee, and she also sits on the ARDP. Abigail was previously an Interim Director of Development at Aberystwyth University and has also worked at Bangor University. She now has her own consulting business, working with a variety of large organisations.

Robert Lewis

Robert Lewis

(Independent Board Member): Robert is the Chair of the Audit & Assurance Committee, and also sits on the ARDP. He is former Chief of Staff at the Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board, and had a variety of roles within the service, mainly specialising in finance.

Lynn Rowlands

Lynn Rowlands

(Tenant Board Member)

Lynn sits on the Customer & Assets Committee. She has worked as a book-keeper and computer programmer and has ran her own craft business. She is a long-standing Member of the Adra Tenant Partnership, and this has included serving on the Trwsio Steering Group

Huw Gareth Pritchard

Huw Gareth Pritchard

(Independent Board Member): Gareth sits on the Audit & Assurance Committee. He has recently retired from North Wales Police after 34 years of service – this included serving as Chief Officer. In this work he led on national projects, including the Welsh language for Welsh forces. He also serves as a School Governor and a Search and Rescue volunteer.

Will Nixon Board Member

Will Nixon

(Adra and Medra Board Member)

Will is a member of the Chartered Institute of Housing, having spent over 30 years working in the housing profession. His experience has been in delivering major regeneration programmes, and senior roles within housing policy and housing management. More recently Will was Deputy Chief Executive of Aspire Housing where he was also Managing Director of their award-winning social enterprise training subsidiary. He is a Board member of Social Enterprise UK and has also served as a Board member on
the Chartered Institute of Housing and Housemark Boards.

Deiniol Evans Board Member

Deiniol Evans

(Medra Board Member)

Deiniol has over 43 years of diverse professional experience in the construction industry, with 28 years in the private, public and housing association sectors at senior management level. He is a Chartered Surveyor and prior to his retirement was Director of Development and Technical

Services with the Pennaf Housing Group. Before joining the Group in 2003 he was the Director of Development and Technical Services at North Wales Housing Association.

Nicolette Cullen Board Member

Nicolette Cullen

(Medra Board Member)

Nicolette has over 18 years of development experience across senior management roles in commercial, public and independent sector organisations. She has vast experience throughout the industry and has had extensive involvement in assembling sizeable land and package deals.  Nicolette is a member of the Chartered Management Institute. She is also an active Board Member of Theatr Clwyd.



Migel Sinnett Medra Board Member

Nigel Sinnett

(Medra Board Member)

Nigel is a freelance property and development consultant, having recently left the Ateb Group where he was Group Property Services Director for 19 years. A Chartered Surveyor by profession, he brings to the Board key skills in facilities and estate management, engineering and capital development. He has served on several Welsh Government steering groups and is a previous Chair of Community Housing Cymru’s Technical Services forum and Chair of the RICS West Wales Group. He is a keen supporter of regional rugby and of the arts and is a Board Member of the Torch Theatre in Milford Haven.

Being a Board Member

Being a Board Member requires a degree of time commitment, which includes:

  • attending meetings
  • events
  • training.

Board Members are given support and are able to take advantage of continuous development opportunities. We are always keen to hear from people interested in joining our Board.

For an informal chat please contact Aled Davies, Head of Governance:

  • email:
  • 0300 123 8084

We are looking for new board members.